Keynote Speaker

Iain JohnstoneIain Johnstone Iain Johnstone is Marjorie Mhoon Fair Professor in Quantitative Science in the Department of Statistics at Stanford University.
He obtained a Ph.D. in statistics from Cornell University in 1981 under Professor Larry Brown.
Dr Johnstone is one of pioneers in the statistical wavelet theory with milestone contributions in the early 1990’s that shaped the field of wavelets in statistics. His other research interests include decision theory, asymptotics, inverse problems, signal processing, simulation methodology, volume tests of significance, hazard rate estimation, maximum entropy methods, random matrices in multidimensional problems and biostatistics and medical statistics (particularly in cardiology and in prostate cancer).  Dr. Johnstone’s distinguished academic and service records include Guggenheim and Sloan Fellowships, presidency of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics, the Guy Medals from the Royal Statistical Society, the 1995 COPSS Presidents’ Award, and the membership of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences.


Featured Speakers

Xiaoming HuoXiaoming Huo Xiaoming Huo is Professor of Statistics at the Stewart School of Industrial & Systems Engineering at Georgia Tech.
Dr. Huo’s research interests include statistical theory, statistical computing, and issues related to data analytics. He has made numerous contributions on topics such as sparse representations, multiscale methods, and statistical problems in detectability.
Dr. Huo received the M.S. degree in electrical engineering and the Ph.D. degree in statistics from Stanford University, Stanford, CA, in 1997 and 1999, respectively. Since August 1999, he has been an Assistant/Associate/Full Professor with the School of Industrial and Systems Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta. He represented China in the 30th International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO), which was held in Braunschweig, Germany, in 1989, and received a golden prize.
tnsriramTN Sriram T.N. Sriram is Professor of Statistics and Interim Department Head at Department of Statistics at University of Georgia. His research interests include Sequential Estimation, Branching Processes, Resampling Methodology, Adaptive Designs, and Linear and Nonlinear Time Series.  Professor T.N. Sriram obtained his Ph. D. Degree at Michigan State University in 1986 and joined University of Georgia in 1987 where he was Assistant, Associate, and Full Professor. Dr. Sriram is a Fellow of American Statistical Association and  an Awarded Teacher at UGA. He published numerous articles in respected statistical journals and takes an active role in the service to the profession via editorial and managing contributions.
suprateekSuprateek Kundu Suprateek Kundu is an Assistant Professor of Biostatistics at
the Department of Biostatistics and Bioinformatics at the Rollins School of Public Health at Emory University.His research areas of interest include the interplay of Bayesian Methodology, Imaging, Genetics, and High Performance Computing.  Dr. Kundu obtained his MS degree at the Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata, in 2008, and Ph.D. degree at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 2012.

Speakers in Technical Sessions A1, A2, B1, and B2

  • Laurie Barker, CDC
  • Andrew Brown, Clemson University
  • Yao-Hsuan Chen, CDC
  • Yunxiao Chen, Emory University
  • Ruth Hummel, JMP SAS
  • Seonghye Jeon, IBM Global Business Service
  • Daniel Linder, Augusta University
  • Xuelei (Sherry) Ni, Kennesaw State University
  • Cheolwoo Park, University of Georgia
  • Kamran Paynabar, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Gengsheng Qin, Georgia State University
  • Lance Waller, Emory University
  • Yao Xie, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Huan Xu, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Huan Yan, Wells Fargo
  • Yichuan Zhao, Georgia State University

Poster Presenters

  • Kylie Ainsle, Emory University
  • Teng Fei, Emory University
  • Joshua Gomberg, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Mohamad S. Hasan, University of Georgia
  • Ali Jinnah, Georgia State University
  • Ben Li, Emory University
  • Kun Liu, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Simon Mak, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Cheng Meng, University of Georgia
  • Subhadip Pal, Emory University
  • Xiaoxiao Sun, University of Georgia
  • Mohammadhossein Toutiaee, University of Georgia
  • Yikai Wang, Emory University
  • Parisa Yousefi Zowj, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Ruizhi Zhang, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Yuchen Zheng, Georgia Institute of Technology